Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
紅櫻桃蝦 |首頁魚缸指南

首頁魚缸指南

家庭水族箱Fishkeeping信息和資源



尋找更在淡水水族館信息嗎?
試試我的淡水水族館的秘密電子書。

我的淡水水族館的秘密



«科登-擺脫金屬

納米魚»

紅櫻桃蝦

所以,我終於得到了一些紅色的櫻花蝦。 我一直想嘗試一些一個月或兩個現在。 我一直缺少在當地魚店,終於爆發了,並下令通過 ebay.com 20。 我真的有點懷疑郵購蝦,但畢竟,其中許多人被郵購反正到當地的魚店。 我有點擔心,20日將太多。 我以為我分裂,在我們的5加侖約 7和13在我們的10加侖的油箱。 我訂購的蝦大多是青少年。 蝦的年齡範圍。


他們昨天抵達在一個絕緣的裝運箱,小通氣袋,並有額外的紙張,以保持滾動太多。 有一些植物在與蝦。 (他們真的需要與他們固守的東西,或者他們獲得更多的強調)先觀察 - WOW有囊中大量的活動。 他們很高興他們在幾天之光第一種觀點和壓縮左右。 第二個觀察是WOW的,有20個蝦,小包包!

我有一個小塑料盤和清空呼吸袋。 喘息袋開始抱住自己,因為它清空,很難得到其他植物。 蝦大多是透明的,很難看到的。 我把包內而外,發現一個蝦仍抱住包內。 集下來在桌子上,看著在碗裡的所有活動。 遲到似乎走動。 有一個殼(?),我認為這是吃剩的蝦蛻殼。 (我不認為這是一個死蝦,我相信這是一個空的稻殼。)

在這一點上,我注意到在桌子上的東西蠕動。 曾有過囊中的另一個我錯過了,現在卡住表! 我仔細痛失對桌子的邊緣和關入碗內。 接下來,我開始加入魚缸水後約一個半小時​​,讓他們坐在我慢慢拘捕他們在袋水加坦克水混合成10加侖或以上。 當有大約 6留在碗裡,我停止和啟動的馴化過程中,各地為 5加侖的油箱再次。 拿到了這 6和清理。 我去沖洗出來呼吸袋和填充用冷自來水,當我看到另一個蝦,我錯過了我在袋(!?!?!?!)拘捕,並陷入5加侖的油箱。 (我估計沒有水,它已經是相當強調了大約一個小時,那麼冷的自來水 ... ...。)緩慢離開的淨,但它確實離開網,並進入水中。

一夜之間,我只能夠看到多達 5的五加侖。 如果有死在這一點上,我不知道。 我只能找到一次約 4大罐。 我怕一個或兩個較小的可能已成為在​​大罐的晚餐雖然。 (我們最大的女性板狀晚餐 - 比利)。

現在,我想知道,如果是20蝦足以開始在這些坦克的殖民地,我考慮更多一些。 這是一種有趣的,因為我首先想到的是,20可能太多... ...。

今天,他們也開始得到比昨天多一點偏紅的色彩。 昨天,他們一點點黑點附近的頭部和背部向下的細黑線透明。 我希望,當他們滋生一些shrimplets將魚吃掉,但我們有足夠的植物覆蓋,我覺得肯定有人會生存。 我只想得到一個良好的殖民地建立在每個坦克。 當然,我會更新在這裡,當我決定是否要獲得更多的或不。

上傳時間 - 11年3月8日

我已經訂購了另外30個蝦,以確保有大量的遺傳多樣性和大量的每個水箱中的數字。 他們應該在這裡本週週三或週四。 我真的很期待他們在和馴化。

更新11年3月10日

哇,到昨天我看到在坦克蝦。 (約 8一看,通過在10加侖和5加侖 5),他們似乎是越來越少害羞,比他們在第一。 蝦的第二批抵達今日(32)。 再次,這是很難相信有這麼多,小包裝。 但也有... ...。 所有抵達活著(沒有這批貨物的熱包)。 這是一個絕緣箱和今天我們的外界溫度在40年代。 我搬進了10和22日到5加侖的油箱的新的10加侖。 因此,我們約 37左右,共10加侖和5加侖大概在17。 (我還沒有看到任何死在這一點上。)袋,又是一個挑戰。 沒有太多的水,當我倒入小塑料托盤,我只設法得到了幾英寸的人,我已經緩解手工蝦。 (杯我的手在它下面,讓引力袋側面,然後入水。)我真的很驚訝,他們都活了下來,雖然我是天氣轉涼 ... ...所以我覺得在這一點上,我們有良好的繁殖地在每一個坦克,並期待著看到shrimplets在不久的將來一段時間。 (我仍然認為,首批至少10加侖抱卵,所以我們會看到另外三個星期,我猜。)

上傳時間 - 11年3月16日

我見過的,特別是在較小的坦克在上週幾個 molts。 我看到一個可怕的很多蝦游泳左右今天。 所以,我認為,一些蝦養殖。 (當女性準備有她的卵子受精,她釋放的一種激素,使男性繞飛搜索她。)

上傳時間 - 11年4月12日

我見過的在兩個坦克molts最近。 我抓住一個良好的一瞥2抱卵雌5加侖的油箱,我仍然在那裡為寶寶蝦。 我深信,這只是一個時間問題。 在10加侖的油箱,我覺得肯定是在出生的坦克,我見過無數細小的蝦。 (不幸的是,更大的坦克有更多潛在的掠食者... ...)

更新11年5月8日

shrimpire是成長 - 我見過的幾個嬰兒在5加侖的油箱,並在最近幾天的最後一個週末,我試圖移動男性和女性出到戶外的容器(雨水桶),以保持香港的platies公司。 不幸的是,我們有一個突然的寒流下降到約 36度,造成的platies死亡。 是在60年代低有一天,我怕整個容器被殲滅,但正如我凝視著用手電桶的損害調查。 瞧有兩個紅色的櫻花蝦! 嗚呼 ... ...

所以... ...。 在這一點上,我會完全與他們保持在一個沒有暖氣的室內容器舒適的。 (請注意,他們可能不會滋生,直到溫度超過 70華氏度)。

免費 PDF    發送PDF格式的文章   
標籤:
2011年3月4日-下午06:35
留下一個答复

CommentLuv徽章

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
Red Cherry Shrimp | Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Fishkeeping Information and Resources for the Home Aquarium



Looking for even MORE information on freshwater aquariums?
Try the My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets ebook.

My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets



« Kordon – Rid Metals

Nano Fish »

Red Cherry Shrimp


Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

So, I finally got some red cherry shrimp. I’ve been wanting to try some for a month or two now. I kept missing them at the local fish store and finally broke down and ordered 20 via ebay.com. I was really a bit skeptical of mail order shrimp but after all, many of them wind up being mail order to the local fish store anyway. I was a bit concerned that 20 would be too many. I thought I’d split and put about 7 in our 5 gallon and 13 in our 10 gallon tank. The shrimp that I ordered were mostly juvenile. There was a range of ages for the shrimp.


They arrived yesterday in an insulated shipping box, small breather bag and there was extra paper to keep them from rolling around too much. There were some plants in with the shrimp. (They really need something in with them to cling to or they get more stressed.) The first observation is – WOW there was a lot of activity in the bag. They’re excited by their first view of light in a few days and are zipping around. The second observation is WOW there are 20 shrimp in THAT little bag!

I got a small plastic dish and emptied the breather bag into it. The breather bag started clinging to itself as it emptied and was hard to get the rest of the plants out. The shrimp were mostly transparent and very hard to see. I turned the bag inside out and found one shrimp still clinging to the inside of the bag. Set that down on the table and looked at all the activity in the bowl. The late arrival seemed to be moving around. There was one shell (?) which I think was the leftover molting of one of the shrimp. (I don’t think it was a dead shrimp, I believe it was an empty husk.)

At this point I noticed something squirm on the table. There had been another in the bag that I missed and was now stuck to the table! I carefully scooted it towards the edge of the table and off into the bowl. Next I started adding tank water and after about a half hour or more of letting them sit in a mix of bag water plus tank water I slowly netted them out and into the 10 gallon. When there were about 6 left in the bowl I stopped and started the acclimation process all over again for the 5 gallon tank. Got those 6 in and was cleaning up. I went to rinse out the breather bag and filled it with cold tap water when I saw ANOTHER shrimp that I missed in the bag(!?!?!?!) I netted it and plunged it into the 5 gallon tank. (I figured it would already be pretty stressed with no water for about an hour and then cold tap water….) It was slow leaving the net, but it did leave the net and go into the water.

Over night I was only able to see as many as 5 of the ones in the five gallon. I don’t know if any have died at this point. I can only find about 4 at a time at the most in the large tank. I’m afraid one or two smaller ones may have become dinner in the large tank though. (Dinner for our largest female platy – Billie).

Now, I’m wondering if 20 shrimp was enough to start colonies in each of these tanks and I’m considering getting some more. Which is kind of funny since my first thought was that 20 might be too many….

Today, they are starting to get a bit more reddish coloration than yesterday. Yesterday they were transparent with a little black spot near the head and thin black line down the back. I expect that when they breed some of the shrimplets will be eaten by the fish, but we have enough plant cover that I feel sure some will survive. I would just like to get a good colony established in each tank. Of course, I’ll update here when I decide whether to get more or not.

Update – 3-8-11

I’ve ordered another 30 shrimp to make sure there’s a lot of genetic diversity and plenty of numbers in each tank. They should be here Wednesday or Thursday of this week. I’m really looking forward to getting them in and acclimated.

Update 3-10-11

Wow, so by yesterday I was seeing more of the shrimp in the tank. (about 8 at one look through in the 10 gallon and 5 in the 5 gallon.) They seem to be getting less shy than they were at first. The second batch of shrimp arrived today (32). It was again hard to believe that there were so many in that small package. But there were…. All arrived alive (no heat pack in this shipment). It was an insulated box and our outside temperature was in the 40s today. I moved 10 of the new ones into the 5 gallon tank and 22 into the 10 gallon. So we have about 37 or so in the 10 gallon total and probably around 17 in the 5 gallon. (I haven’t seen any die at this point.) Getting them out of the bag again was a challenge. There was not much water and when I poured it into the little plastic tray I only managed to get a few of the shrimp in. The others I had to ease out by hand. (Cup my hand underneath it and let gravity pull it off the side of the bag and then into the water.) I’m really amazed that they all survived though I was concerned for the cooler weather… So I feel like at this point we have a good breeding colony in each tank and look forward to seeing shrimplets some time in the near future. (I still think that one of the first batch at least is berried in the 10 gallon, so we’ll see in another three weeks I guess.)

Update – 3-16-11

I’ve seen several molts in the last week especially in the smaller tank. I see an awful lot of shrimp swimming around today too. So, I think that some of the shrimp are breeding. (When the female is ready to have her eggs fertilized she releases a hormone that makes the males fly around to search her out.)

Update – 4-12-11

I’ve seen more molts in both tanks lately. I caught a good glimpse of 2 berried females in the 5 gallon tank and am still searching for baby shrimp in there. I feel sure it’s only a matter of time. I have seen numerous small shrimp in the 10 gallon tank that I feel sure were born in the tank. (Unfortunately the bigger tank has more potential predators…)

Update 5-8-11

The shrimpire is growing – I’ve seen several babies in the 5 gallon tank in recent days and last weekend I tried moving a male and female out to an outdoor container (rain barrel) to keep our platies company. Unfortunately we had a sudden cold spell down to about 36 degrees that killed the platies. There was a day in the low 60s and I was afraid the entire container was wiped out, but as I gazed into the barrel with a flashlight to survey the damage. Lo and behold there are the two red cherry shrimp! WOohoo…

So…. at this point I would be perfectly comfortable with keeping them in an unheated indoor container. (Note that they likely will not breed until the temperatures are above 70 Fahrenheit.)

PDF Printer    Send article as PDF   
Tags: , , , ,
March 4, 2011 - 6:35 PM
Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge