Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
清洗一個非常臟的魚缸 |主頁魚水族館指南

首頁魚缸指南

家庭水族箱Fishkeeping信息和資源



尋找更在淡水水族館信息嗎?
試試我的淡水水族館的秘密電子書。

我的淡水水族館的秘密



«風化魚寵物箱長時間停電

選擇您的熱帶魚缸加熱器 »

清洗一個非常臟的魚缸

我要報告的後續行動的最後自白我對我們的魚缸很骯髒。 似乎每次我做了一個水的變化,我們將在幾天內藍藻。 藻類收集坦克表面,然後用水清除。 我幾乎離開它,當它,直到下一次清洗,為我們的魚似乎幸福和內容。 基本用水參數(氨/亞硝酸鹽 /硝酸鹽),似乎都可以忽略的程度。 我仍然感到驚訝,硝酸鹽是保持接近零,仍假設,我們(極有可能是藻類)植物生長保持它低。 我不禁懷疑,如果我們的井水是負責的藻類(磷酸鹽)。 所以... ...你怎麼去清洗一個非常臟的坦克?


我記得當我還是我很少聽到有人談論清潔魚缸了他們的視野,讓一碗水,把自己的魚在,然後空了所有的水從他們的坦克和使用清潔劑,擦洗一切,然後重建它。 事實上,當我問她短命的一條魚的經驗,當她是一個女孩,他們做了什麼非常接近我的妻子。 他們沒有一條魚長不過。

現在回想起來,我希望如果你閱讀本網站上的資源,你可以看到,這種做法是一個壞主意。 當然,也有有益的細菌生長在一個魚缸,你需要他們的生存或將成為水與氨和亞硝酸鹽污染(你不一定能看到)和你的魚會死。

但是,當坦克得到明顯污穢表面和碎石... ... 如果太高的水質參數。 我們的第一本能是抽出我們的魚那裡,並將它們移到乾淨的水,但再次... ... 這是一個壞主意。 一條魚從一個坦克移動到另一個可以緊張,水質參數,如氨,亞硝酸鹽,硝酸鹽,pH值和溫度均勻的突然變化,可以到他們的系統感到震驚。

所以... ...這裡就是你要做的,這是我用我最後的清潔。 取出任何水前仔細用刷子周圍的所有表面(玻璃/升降機管/加熱器 /管/裝飾)工作的方式和打跑積累的東西盡可能多。 在我們的例子中,我敢肯定它的藻類。 這不幸的是會挑起很多碎片,在坦克,你的魚會游泳幾分鐘。 重要的是,雖然這樣做首先。

下一步準備好您的礫石真空,並開始用它來空水和吸漂浮物以及任何可能對礫石結算。 我的工作相當亂,是否有植物存在或不通過碎石。 我們有一個叢Java的青苔 ,我總是修剪了一下泵,事後我會挑選一些背水和地點在坦克,但是... ...。 植物真的相當有彈性,一點點修剪,如果他們有相同的條件下存活幾個月,甚至可能刺激經濟增長。 我還會嘗試獲得一些較大的浮動小心不要打破表面的吸水和寬鬆的碎片。

當然要小心不要讓你的魚與礫石真空!

一個典型的水改在停車前約 1 / 5的水,我會得到高達 1 / 3的水。 通常當我停止是由當我不小心打破VAC水面,一邊追一個漂浮的藻類塊。 不過 ...。 如果真臟去除50%的水。 我知道你會在50%,剩下的,並認為,看起來所有的東西漂浮在它討厭,但如果你有一個很好的泵成立的,它不會長期這樣。 然後,我慢慢大約相同的溫度與水筆芯在坦克。

我得到了充分和等待的過濾器,以完成其工作。 現在,我們有一個 undergravel過濾器和長期不清洗週期可以實際上導致在碎石內分解碎片的危險氣體的積聚。 這是很多人不喜歡 undergravel過濾器的原因之一。 所以,當我清理我盡量做到每平方英寸的礫石。 最初的坦克仍然漂浮在它的碎片,但水清除後一兩個小時到發白雲,第二天早晨,那麼它是晶瑩剔透。

其實我從坦克的指示修改我們的砂石過濾器下位。 當我們得到了坦克的指示,把罐中活性炭作為過濾介質。 從那時起我就用聚酯泡沫(像他們使用的毛絨動物或扔墊子。)泡沫填料工程作為一個牙線介質,並提供了良好的細菌的生長(表面積,因為空氣是通過過濾器框和電梯管被迫但更重要的是,它可以過濾掉即使是最微小的顆粒活性炭將錯過創造大量的表面積活性炭是一個很好的媒體,但微粒可以過去(和往常一樣),由於切換到半激活碳和半“牙線過濾媒體說:”​​我們有清澈的水(即使在玻璃罩中藻類)。

為了把它更簡潔,它的這個坦克過濾器曾經表現在過濾器中使用點點的泡沫/牙線填料的最佳。 我唯一​​要小心的是投入太多,因為這瓶空氣和水的流量,將迫使空氣通過碎石。 所以,不要塞進你的濾筒!

現在 ... ...。 如果你一個 50%的水變化,因為事情是骯髒的,覺得你需要做更多的,然後等待一天(或兩個),然後重新與另一個深層清潔。 你真的不應該比當時更多的水,即使是可怕的事情! 如果是可怕的東西,然後安排這些深層清潔有點緊密聯繫起來,但嘗試給予穩定​​之間的清洗時間的事情。

免費 PDF    發送PDF格式的文章   
標籤:
1月3日,2010 - 13:21
留下一個答复

CommentLuv徽章

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
Cleaning a VERY Dirty Fish Tank | Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Fishkeeping Information and Resources for the Home Aquarium



Looking for even MORE information on freshwater aquariums?
Try the My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets ebook.

My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets



« Weathering an Extended Power Outage in a Fish Pet Tank

Choosing a Heater for your Tropical Fish Aquarium »

Cleaning a VERY Dirty Fish Tank


Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

I have to report a follow up to the LAST confessional I had about our fish tank being very dirty. It seems every time I do a water change we will get an algae bloom within a couple days. Algae collects on the tank surfaces and then the water clears. I’ve pretty much left it when it does this until the next cleaning as our fish seems happy and content. The basic water parameters (ammonia/nitrite/nitrates) all seem at negligible levels. I’m still surprised that the nitrates are staying near zero and still assuming that the plant growth we have (and yes algae too likely) are keeping it that low. I can’t help but wonder if our well water is responsible for the algae blooms (phosphates?). So… how do you go about cleaning a VERY dirty tank?


I remember when I was little I heard someone talking about cleaning a fish tank and had visions of them getting a bowl of water to put their fish in and then empty out all the water from their tank and use cleaners and scrub everything down and then reconstruct it. In fact, when I asked my wife about her short-lived experience of having a fish when she was a girl that is pretty close to what they did. They didn’t have a fish long though.

In retrospect, and I hope if you’ve read the resources on this site you can see where that approach is a bad idea. Of course, there are beneficial bacteria that grow in a fish tank and you need them to survive or the water will become polluted with ammonia and nitrites (that you cannot necessarily see) and your fish will die.

But what about when the tank gets visibly filthy on the surfaces and gravel….. or what if the water parameters are getting too high. Our first instinct is to yank our fish out of there and move them to clean water, but again…. that’s a bad idea. Moving a fish from one tank to another can be stressful, the sudden change in water parameters such as the ammonia, nitrite, nitrates, ph and even temperature can be a shock to their system.

So… here’s what you do and this is what I did with my last cleaning. Before removing any water carefully use a brush to work your way around to all the surfaces (glass/lift tube/heater/other tubes/decorations) and dislodge as much of the accumulated stuff as possible. In our case I’m pretty sure it’s algae. This unfortunately will stir up a LOT of debris in the tank that your fish will be swimming in for a few moments. It is important though to do that first.

Next get your gravel vacuum ready and start using it to empty water and suck up the floating debris as well as any that might have settled on the gravel. I work through the gravel fairly indiscriminately of whether there are plants there or not. We have a clump of java moss that I most always prune a bit off with the pump and afterwards I’ll pick some back out of the water and place back in the tank, but…. plants are really fairly resilient and if they have survived for months under the same conditions a little pruning may even stimulate growth. I’ll also try to get some of the larger floating debris being careful not to break the surface and loose the suction of water.

Of course, be careful not to get your fish with the gravel vacuum!

A typical water change I’ll get about 1/5 of the water down to as much as 1/3 of the water out before stopping. Usually when I stop is determined by when I accidentally break the surface of the water with the vac while chasing a floating chunk of algae. However…. if it’s really dirty go for a 50% removal of water. I know you will be looking at the 50% that’s left and think that looks nasty with all the stuff floating in it, but if you have a good pump set up it won’t be that way for long. I then slowly refill with water that is about the same temperature as is in the tank.

I get it up to full and wait for the filter to do its job. Now, we have an undergravel filter and long periods without cleaning can actually lead to a buildup of dangerous gases within decomposing debris in the gravel. This is one reason many people dislike undergravel filters. So, when I clean I try to make it to every square inch of the gravel. Initially the tank still has debris floating in it, but after an hour or two the water clears to a whitish cloud and then by next morning it is crystal clear.

I’ve actually modified our under gravel filter a bit from the instructions that came with the tank. When we got the tank the instructions were to put activated carbon in the canister as a filter medium. Since then I have used polyester foam (like they use for stuffed animals or throw cushions.) That foam filler works as a floss medium and gives more surface area for the good bacteria to grow (since air is forced through the filter box and lift tube. But more than that it filters out even the tiniest particles that the activated carbon will miss. Activated carbon is a good media for creating lots of surface area, but particulate can get past it (and it always did). Since switching to half activated carbon and half “floss filter media” we have had crystal clear water (even when the glass covers up in algae.)

To put it more concisely it’s the best this tanks filter has ever performed to use a little bit of the foam/floss filler in the filter. The only thing I have to be careful about is putting too much in as that will bottle up the flow of air and water and will force air out through the gravel. So, don’t stuff it into your filter canister!

Now…. if you do a 50% water change because things are filthy and feel like you need to do more, then wait a day (or two) and then revisit with another deep cleaning. You really shouldn’t take more water out at a time than that even if things are dire! If things are dire then schedule those deep cleanings a bit closer together, but try to give time for things to stabilize between the cleanings.

Free PDF    Send article as PDF   
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
January 3, 2010 - 1:21 PM
Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge