Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
育種紅櫻桃蝦 |首頁魚缸指南

首頁魚缸指南

家庭水族箱Fishkeeping信息和資源



尋找更在淡水水族館信息嗎?
試試我的淡水水族館的秘密電子書。

我的淡水水族館的秘密



“紅櫻桃蝦在梅森JAR的一部分2

養殖紅櫻桃蝦

紅櫻桃蝦neocaridina巨蟹)廣受歡迎的蝦家淡水水族館 ,很多人預計很快就會滋生紅櫻桃蝦 您可能知道,我已經對他們在這裡已經寫了一些,並有計劃出售他們通過我青蝦網站。 約 5個月,我還以為我很快就會有足夠的蝦,手感舒適賣一些,但我還沒有看到人口增長很指數如我所料。 所以,我一直在閱讀有關紅櫻桃蝦養殖和希望放在一起後與不少細節。

Red Cherry Shrimp

紅櫻花蝦圖像通過維基百科

首先,它似乎很簡單。 加入水,食物和蝦,那麼你只是覆蓋著他們。 他們約 20-30每兩個月的育雛和前長 50起動殖民地應數千或更多。 事實上,我已經做了一些數學與保守和樂觀的估計。 但在大多數情況下,現實情況是不同的。 我並沒有失去任何重大的利率蝦,有過在人口沒有重大坍塌。 他們根本就沒有,因為他們可以迅速成長為。 為什麼呢?

答案是很可能在幾個變量。

養殖紅櫻桃蝦

因此,需要什麼樣的品種紅櫻桃蝦嗎?
首先,你需要有一個加熱器淡水水族館。 理想的溫度是75至80華氏度。 他們的生存將更為寒冷的溫度,但不會滋生,遠低於 70度。 我有一個實驗,早在今年夏天與室外容器和他們做的相當不錯,甚至出存活的魚,當我們下 ​​降到30年代的上幾個酷天與低點。 他們是耐寒蝦。 然而,我的戶外實驗失敗了,當我們增加了蚊子扣籃。 我沒有發現,直到後來,那些扣籃也有毒的蝦。 這是一個非常令人失望的發現。 還應當指出,金屬沒有一個良好的物質青蝦。 銅特別是沒有沒有,我強烈建議如果您有科登擺脫金屬銅管。

在許多方面,如剛剛加入水,蝦,退一步容易。 然而,他們繁殖率高,有一些其他事情,需要牢記。 上述溫度是第一項。 名單上的下是否有其他魚類在同一水箱侏儒蝦。 現在,我們已經 platies,他們沒有足夠大的威脅櫻花蝦。 然而,當新蝦仁出生後成功繁殖紅櫻桃蝦 platies他們做出來美味的小吃。 那麼,什麼是你的選擇呢? 單獨的油箱蓋很多。 隨著大量的植物覆蓋,你將有更多的蝦仁生存,但不喜歡你,如果他們從其他魚類中分離出來。

在我們的情況蝦具體坦克已經完成得更好後的任何一次約17起,可見它的最大的70-80蝦。 考慮雖然是另一回事,這是食品。

紅櫻桃蝦養殖最佳的餵養方法

現在,很長一段時間,我卻忽視了我的蝦坦克。 他們種植,並在一個 ,蝦和蝦只有在其他坦克瀏覽藻類不錯,誰知道還有什麼。 他們做大量的工作,吃了所有的時間。 這似乎有點傻,來餵它們時,你永遠不能告訴他們餓了。 然而,他們極大地受益於美聯儲定期。 讓我們面對它,你會被視為可能有孩子,如果你不知道下一頓飯是如何一定呢? 你多容易找到的食物,如果是經常的和可預見的的和豐富的你會看到更多蝦。
我的經驗,因為我一直在餵養比較一致的,我們看到更多的抱卵女性準備孵化出來的蛋寶寶紅櫻桃蝦。 過去幾週我例行隔日我餵坦克得到。 我已經很小心,以避免過度餵食。 我們都讀的警告,但在這個過程中,我怕我已經走得太遠了,到了另一個極端,並 underfeeding。 一旦每兩個星期我所做的(在某些情況 ​​下不經常)50-70蝦的人口在一個坦克和任何地方從1-5魚類其他坦克在30-50蝦。

藻類晶圓(或半藻類晶圓)隔日應足夠良好的極少數蝦(10)。 蝦不是在整理東西的是快速。 5分鐘規則真的不適用。 我喜歡餵晚了一天,然後蝦可以餵到晚上熄燈後。 他們似乎更舒適的方式。 如果離開了第二天的食物,然後我想,也許我給太多或餵食後,去年飼養過於頻繁。 我開始認為這是矮青蝦人口爆炸性增長的關鍵。 如果所有其他因素似乎好(溫度,物種只有坦克 ,良好的植物覆蓋),然後再考慮你的餵養時間表和調整,然後坐下來,觀看的人數增長。

良好的植物繁殖的紅櫻桃蝦

植物覆蓋。 真正的植物繁殖紅櫻桃蝦 ,或只是讓他們有賓至如歸的感覺似乎是必不可少的,但植物是很難 !不... ...實際上他們沒有。 起初我還以為他們是,但之後我發現,在我們的管道的銅是殺害他們,並開始使用科登擺脫金屬... ...植物現在容易。 當然,我很高興我發現前因為那時我還以為只是保持蝦活著的成蝦已經很難太。

什麼植物是最好的。 JAVA苔海報子植物有你的紅櫻桃蝦。 我不能圖片更完美的植物。 他們隱藏其下,各地的爬行。 蝦仁愛躲藏在和它周圍穿梭。 很多時候,我的Java苔將開始尋找各種成長的事情糞樣,但現在的蝦新郎這麼好聽,它總是完美的圖片。 認真去為了一些 java 現在,然後再回到這裡。 其他植物也不錯。 浮萍似乎特別的樂趣。 當它的非常密集,有一個墊子掛從表面上看,我會發現許多紅色 cherrys倒掛瀏覽藻類從根部落地生根。 他們似乎也吃根的浮萍一個位。

紅櫻桃蝦養殖的另一個良好的植物是najas草。 這是一個漂浮植物,我注意到在我的蝦魚缸的,我看到無數的蝦在這家工廠的群眾失去了。 它漂亮的魚苗或蝦仁蓋以及增長迅速。 關於其他加漂浮植物 (或其他植物 ),是他們從水中提取的硝酸鹽和幫助清潔水族箱的水。

其他考慮紅櫻桃蝦養殖點

有其他的事情,你可能要考慮在養殖紅櫻桃蝦。 關於溫度:必須小心,你不超過 80度,太多。 這些蝦不會欣賞氣溫上升到90年代或更高。 事實上,我們已花費數比去年蝦。 我相信,在陽光直射的高溫引起我們的一些蝦在梅森JAR實驗的消亡。



基材:一個黑暗的基板不奇觀襯托出紅色的櫻花蝦的顏色。 我不會說,這是必要的的。 他們肯定會滋生一個黑暗的基板,但如果你想要做一些選擇育種和品種只有那些更加豐富多彩,這將是在您的名單。

基因庫:讓我們面對它,如果你在一個容器中,並在5代(約一年),你仍然有相同的基因庫的10蝦開始時,我會懷疑,不太理想。 兩三年近親繁殖,它不會讓我感到驚訝地看到他們回到其自然色彩的。 您還可以看到其他的遺傳問題。 理想情況下,你將要刷新從其他來源的基因庫。 我已成立了兩輛坦克,分別美聯儲有兩個來源,在某些時候,我將交叉除了加入更多來自外部的兩個。

另一點要考慮的是一位女蝦卵,首批可能會丟失。 這是本來就這樣,所以從出生到現場 shrimplets你所期望的3或4個月保持你的估計多了幾分現實。 在任何情況下,我希望本指南幫助您在養殖紅櫻桃蝦!

PDF打印機    發送PDF格式的文章   
標籤:
2011年11月27日-下午10:27
留下一個答复

CommentLuv徽章

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
Breeding Red Cherry Shrimp | Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Fishkeeping Information and Resources for the Home Aquarium



Looking for even MORE information on freshwater aquariums?
Try the My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets ebook.

My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets



« Red Cherry Shrimp in a Mason Jar Part 2

A Guppy Out of Water »

Breeding Red Cherry Shrimp


Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Red Cherry Shrimp (neocaridina heteropoda) are wildly popular shrimp for the home freshwater aquarium, many people expect to soon be breeding red cherry shrimp.  You may know that I’ve written about them some here already and have plans to sell them via my freshwater shrimp site.  I had thought for about 5 months that I would soon have enough shrimp to feel comfortable selling some, but I haven’t seen the population grow quite as exponentially as I expected.  So, I’ve been reading about red cherry shrimp breeding and wanted to put together a post with quite a few details.

Red Cherry Shrimp

Red Cherry Shrimp Image via Wikipedia

First, it seems so simple.  Add water, food and shrimp and then you’re just covered up with them.  They have broods of around 20-30 every month or two and before long a starter colony of 50 should be several thousand or more.  In fact, I’ve done some math with conservative and optimistic estimations.  But in most cases, reality was different.  I haven’t lost shrimp at any major rate, there have been no major collapses in the population.  They simply haven’t grown as quickly as they could.  Why?

The answer is probably in a few variables.

 

 Breeding Red Cherry Shrimp

 

So what does it take to breed red cherry shrimp?
First you do need a freshwater aquarium with a heater.  The ideal temperature is going to be between 75 and 80 degrees fahrenheit.  They will survive much cooler temperatures but will not breed much below 70 degrees.  I had an experiment going with an outdoor container early in the summer and they did quite well, even out surviving fish when we had several cool days with lows down into the upper 30s.  They are hardy shrimp.  However, my outdoor experiment failed when we added mosquito dunks.  I did not discover until afterwards that those dunks are also poisonous to the shrimp.  That was a very disappointing discovery.  Also it should be noted that metals are not a good substance to get along with freshwater shrimp.  Copper especially is a no-no and I highly recommend kordon rid-metals if you have copper pipes.

In many ways it is as easy as just adding water, shrimp and step back.  However for them to breed prolifically there are a few other things that need to be kept in mind.  The temperature mentioned above is the first item.  Next on the list is if there are other fish in the same tank with your dwarf shrimp.  Now, we have platies and they are not big enough to threaten the cherry shrimp.  However, when the new baby shrimp are born after successfully breeding red cherry shrimp the platies can make a tasty snack out of them.  So what are your choices?  Either a separate tank or LOTS of cover.  With lots of plant cover you will have more baby shrimp survive, but not like you would if they were separated from other fish.

In our situation the shrimp specific tank has done much better with a maximum of 70-80 shrimp in it visible at any one time after starting with around 17.  There is another thing to consider though and that is food.

Best feeding practices for breeding Red Cherry Shrimp

Now, for a long time I have neglected my shrimp tanks.  They’re planted and the fish and shrimp in one and shrimp only in the other tank browse quite well for algae and who knows what else.  They do a great job eating all the time.  It seems a bit silly to feed them when you can never tell that they’re hungry.  However, they benefit greatly from being fed regularly.  Let’s face it, would you be as likely to have kids if you didn’t know how certain the next meal was?  You’re more than likely to find that if the food is regular and predictable (and plentiful) you will see more shrimp.
My experience has been that as I’ve been more consistent in feedings we’ve seen more berried females ready to hatch out eggs of baby red cherry shrimp.  The last few weeks I’ve gotten into more of a routine where every other day I feed the tanks.  I’ve been very careful to avoid overfeeding.  We’ve all read the warnings about that, but in the process I’m afraid I’ve gone too far to the other extreme and been underfeeding.  Once every week or two was all I did (in some cases less frequently) for a population of 50-70 shrimp in one tank and anywhere from 1-5 fish and 30-50 shrimp in the other tank.

One algae wafer (or half an algae wafer) every other day should be enough for a good handful (10) of shrimp.  Shrimp aren’t as quick at finishing things off as the fish are.  The 5 minute rule really doesn’t apply.  I like to feed late in the day and then the shrimp can feed into the night after lights out.  They seem more comfortable that way.  If there is food left the next day then I think that perhaps I gave too much or had fed them too frequently after the last feeding.  I am beginning to think that this is the key to explosive population growth of dwarf freshwater shrimp.  If all other factors seem good (temperature, species only tank, good plant cover), then consider your feeding schedule and adjust it then sit back and watch the numbers grow.

Good Plants for Breeding Red Cherry shrimp

Plant cover.  For breeding red cherry shrimp or just making them feel at home real plants seem to be essential.  But plants are hard!  No… really they’re not.  Initially I thought they were, but after I discovered that the copper in our pipes was killing them and started using kordon rid-metals…. plants are now EASY.  Of course, I’m glad I discovered that before moving into shrimp because then I would have thought just keeping the shrimp alive would have been hard too.

What plants are best.  Java moss is the poster child plant to have with your red cherry shrimp.  I can’t picture a more perfect plant.  They hide under it, the crawl all over it.  The baby shrimp love hiding in and darting around it.  Many times my java moss would start looking kind of mucky with all sorts of things growing on it, but now the shrimp groom it so nicely that it’s always picture perfect.  Seriously go order some java moss right now and then come back here.  Other plants are good too.  Duckweed seems particularly fun.  When it’s very dense and there is a mat of roots hanging down from the surface I’ll find many red cherrys upside down browsing algae from the roots.  They also seem to eat the roots of the duckweed a bit.

Another good plant for breeding red cherry shrimp is najas grass.  It’s a floating plant and I’ve noticed in my shrimp and fish tank I see numerous shrimp lost in the masses of this plant.  It makes for nice fry or baby shrimp cover as well and grows quickly.  The other plus about floating plants (or other plants) is that they extract nitrates from the water and help to clean the water of your aquarium.

Other points to consider in breeding red cherry shrimp

There are other things that you may want to consider in breeding red cherry shrimp.  Regarding the temperature: care must be taken that you don’t exceed 80 degrees by too  much.  These shrimp will not appreciate temperatures up into the 90s or higher.  In fact, that has cost us a few shrimp over the last year.  I believe that high temperatures in direct sun caused the demise of some of our shrimp in the mason jar experiments.



Substrate:  A dark substrate does wonders to bring out the color of the red cherry shrimp.  I’m not going to say that this is necessary.  They will certainly breed without a dark substrate, but if you want to do some select breeding and breed only those that are more colorful this is going to be high on your list.

Gene pool:  Let’s face it if you start with 10 shrimp in a container and in 5 generations (about a year) you still have the same gene pool, I would suspect that’s less than ideal.  Two or three years of inbreeding and it wouldn’t surprise me to see them go back to their natural colorations.  You may also see other genetic issues.  Ideally you are going to want to refresh the gene pool from other sources.  I have two tanks set up, each were fed from two sources and at some point I will cross the two in addition to adding more from outside.

Another point to consider is that the first batch of eggs a female shrimp has will possibly be lost.  It’s just the way it is, so from birth to live shrimplets you might expect 3 or 4 months to keep your estimates a little more realistic.  In any case I hope this guide has helped you in breeding red cherry shrimp!

Create PDF    Send article as PDF   
Tags: , , , , ,
November 27, 2011 - 10:27 PM
Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge