Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
嬰兒板狀弗萊 |首頁魚缸指南

首頁魚缸指南

家庭水族箱Fishkeeping信息和資源



尋找更在淡水水族館信息嗎?
試試我的淡水水族館的秘密電子書。

我的淡水水族館的秘密



«為什麼我所有植物熔化?

一個Walstad的天然水草缸 »

嬰兒板狀弗萊

這第一部分是從我的“為什麼是我廠融化”後,更新...

11年1月7日 - 晚上10:30
好吧,我開始真空礫石和引起食物浮動對虹吸時,突然衝過來一個小的白色片狀的視線 ... ...。 我們有嬰兒。 我看到了一次,於是在5出生,似乎仍然有幾個去(至少)。史努比,我們的紅色 WAG(橘紅色與黑尾巴和鰭)生下。 她一直有點胡思亂想上週或追逐其他兩個左右(有點所以今天它似乎。)她是我懷疑是懷孕了,只是根據她的大小。 我們加入坦克米奇(男)日(星期二)12月21日。 之前,史努比一直是孤獨的女性,因為去年的這個時候,我相信(我會回頭,但我認為她可能已經在那裡的時間長一點。)


所以,這 2週和3天的妊娠期(這似乎非常短,我一直在閱讀時,他們通常有4週左右了 - 小傢伙真實可愛 - 兩個眼睛和一個透明的身體的小點,這些尾巴鰭真的去當他們壓縮周圍,他們都非常巧妙地堅持Java的蕨類植物非常密切。

有趣的是看到史努比頂部附近徘徊,她的嘴,幾乎在水面上和其他兩個 huddling類似的姿勢有點接近她。 他們已經相當多的寧靜,現在,她在勞動(你甚至可以說魚嗎?)她去忽冷忽熱,她嘗試之一,然後出生hunkers和休息。 我唯一​​感到遺憾的是,這已經發生時,坦克是不太理想。 氨是小於 0.25後的變化,但大於 0,亞硝酸鹽是0.25和硝酸鹽左右20PPM。

凌晨1:30史努比仍然難產(至少4個小時後,事情開始。)我看到了一些魚苗,但燈,所以我couldnt看到有多少。 今天,11年1月8日。 事情似乎要在坦克接近正常,魚的行為是更多像往常一樣。 史努比似乎較小,但我還是想她可能有幾個魚苗下降。 如果我讀的是一個衡量,那麼至少她可能有另一個約 4週下降,使周圍 2月4日左右。

我已經厭倦了今天上午,我已經做了兩件事情餵養。 首先是對成年人的正規的大片狀,並在自封袋,我已經把一些片,粉碎,然後用濕牙籤得到它的片狀灰塵和存款,進入水箱(看起來像小雪)我有看到至少有兩個魚苗穿梭在今天上午的JAVA苔蘚和洞穴。 我怕我不知道如果任何更多的生存夜間。 他們可能有可能藏匿在/ JAVA苔團塊或大的洞穴或一個較小的一個,以及各地。 有很多他們藏身的地方。

然而,大魚似乎沒有為飢餓的今天,這可能意味著,他們已經有高蛋白小吃... ...。

至於水的外觀和數據,我只是測試亞硝酸鹽今天在0.25ppm,將另一部分水改今天要小心不要吸出寶寶魚苗。 這真的是令人驚異的是看到他們周圍的壓縮。 他們並不比大米,多為白色或明確(對他們更加透明的尾巴)的糧食,他們也有兩個小的黑眼睛大。

我們現在談論的繼續,並得到一個新的坦克時,我們可以回去了(幾英寸的雪和冰過夜,並可能有更多未來明晚因此,我們可以有效地在幾天下雪,即使如果沒有這些魚苗,使其,有可能會是另一回用不了多久,我們的新女性可能已經懷孕,以及她看起來不一樣大史努比已,但她卻是一個更亮的顏色,我可以看到一個很小的黑點,我覺得可能是妊娠斑,如果是這樣,我們應該尋找另外2個星期。

我想在某些方面,採取所有的植物/裝飾,這樣我就可以看到小傢伙,當然我想通過未來幾天的生活有任何的機會,他們會帶走。

有多少人有總? 這是一個很好的問題,我真的不知道,但是... ...。 在晚上9時 30分左右,我可以當場在水箱底部,我以為我看見一個只是第二位,僅次於它誕生的第五。 我記得另外兩個或三個醒目的只是一個或兩個時刻後,他們分開從他們的母親,以便將至少有8個,這聽起來像一個相對較小的育雛。

我已經警告是指“我和妻子不要太附在他們的孩子”魚和它的可能,使他們沒有。 是的,我可以分成一個塑料桶的母親,我猜,然後採取她分娩後或剛搬到一個臨時的塑料桶“醫院”坦克的大魚,但我們會看到。 我已考慮出售給商店信用的LFS的可能性,但有聽到,他們將至少需要足夠大,是可供出售或他們會風作為飼養魚出現 ... ...。 我認為,我們的計劃得到另一個坦克可能與提高他們的可能性幫助,直到他們足夠大的銷售 /貿易。

無論如何,更多的更新來 ... ...。

更新11年1月8日 - 下午1:50

好了 - 肯定還是有2個在Java苔炒隱藏潛在的。 可能會做一個有關午後的水變化。 我也可能會做一瓶的一些盆栽土壤測試的天然水草缸 ,我們將在未來兩個星期。

更新11年1月8日 - 20:00

好了 - 另一輪今天的水改的同時魚苗。 我已經看到至少有三個游泳池大約在同一時間。 我覺得這些可能是新生嬰兒,因為他們似乎游泳首次在公開前hunkering和隱藏。 我們已經看到2隱藏在此之前。 史努比,母親坐在上的碎石和其他魚類已經在角落裡,這是為什麼我開始尋找更加專注自己的鼻子。 我看到一個魚苗死亡浮動。 米奇slurped和吐了回來。 我不知道如果這是什麼殺害或如果它已經死了。 我懷疑幾個人已經 slurped昨天這段時間以來雖然在看到至少有兩個一起在Java苔的最後幾分鐘。

哦,其他注意 - 我的措施之一,出現約一英寸長的5/16ths。

好了 - 30分至晚上8時 30分 - 我只能確認目前人居住,並已看到兩個浮動,史努比仍行為,但她沒有這樣做。

更新11年1月9日 - 21:00

不幸的是,今晚,我沒有能夠看到任何板狀魚苗從昨晚起。 我看到了昨晚兩人死亡,但有至少有一個仍然生活時,燈循環。 即使換水後的今天,我不能當場之一,我們將看到在未來的幾天。 我沒有得到一個新的10加侖的油箱 ,成年人會開始到未來下降時發生移動。

更新 - 11年1月10日 - 下午9:30

我沒有多的時間,為他們看看今天,但仍然沒有南聯盟的跡象。 我認為這一輪的分娩似乎然而,在坦克的行為仍然是不太恢復正常。 (水質問題嗎?)我們與新型坦克的計劃是將男性只要它似乎適合新10加侖。 然後,女性獲得 5加侖停留,直到下一次下降,屆時,他們將在一段時間移動到新的10加侖和魚苗可以保持小坦克。

更新11年1月11日下午03:42

- 另一個水的變化和我們回到了下降的行為。 史努比坐在礫石和隱藏下植物,其他兩個都堅持自己的鼻子,以及角落。 不知道如果有幾個魚苗將在此批次或不出生。

更新11年1月11日下午9:00

沒有另一個水改,我們是在0 ppm的氨 - 亞硝酸鹽的陰影只是一個零以上(但不至0.25)和5至10 ppm的硝酸鹽。 沒有寶寶魚苗的標誌,因為我正在改變,但問題仍然似乎是從史努比下降。 她掛在水箱底部,在角落裡。 這可能只是一般的壓力簽署。 我希望,不會做了幾天換水,以幫助上強調的東西方。 下一步的清理,雖然我要去移動的Java苔和清潔底下,這可能清理了很多額外的碎片。 (砂石是沒有被植物覆蓋的邊緣,正在尋找最近出色,這一切清潔乾淨,我試圖避免任何在過去幾年的變化,可以得到良好的細菌擺脫擦洗。希望如果有任何幾天炒我將能夠看到他們當 Java苔感動,我清潔。此時,我還沒有看到任何和犯罪嫌疑人有沒有目前居住在坦克,但如果史努比仍然持有一個或兩個,誰知道?

更新11年1月14日 - 22:00

不幸的是,分娩行為持續了好幾天,它變得清晰,史努比以及其他原因強調。 起初我懷疑鰓吸蟲和接受治療。 第二天史努比死亡。 我很遺憾,我沒有更早地識別症狀。 因為她病了,我感到困惑的底部坐在她就坐在底部的誕生。 在一個點上,我懷疑魚鰾病,但我傾向於鰓吸蟲。 水箱中剩餘的platies有類似的體檢,我還在治療。 按照這種治療的方向,今天我做了一個大的水改,掏出幾乎所有的植物。 我不相信任何炒尚存在現在這種坦克。 希望一旦感染清除了,我們將有另一批。 如果在坦克​​的兩個 platys現在不渡過難關,我將需要等待至少7天前放養。 我個人思想的兩個星期,可能是一個更安全的時期(雖然我仍然飼料坦克保持菌落。)

不多說了,新的魚可能不相同的應力下,目前魚通過,已經看到他們生病了。 它是安全的,但等待會更好。 希望剩下的兩個魚(米奇和夫人。魚),並在一兩天,她的轉機,但他們的行為已經非常不尋常的最後幾天。 無精打采,徘徊在頂部或底部的坦克,沒有食物的反應。 很少反應 /它們之間的相互作用。 很少在移動坦克旁邊的驚人。 這將是最後一次更新這個職位。 未來的更新是在“為什麼是我廠融”和潛在的約鰓吸蟲和其他水族館害蟲的新職位。

PDF格式    發送PDF格式的文章   
標籤:
2011年1月8日- 12:40
留下一個答复

CommentLuv徽章

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
Baby Platy Fry | Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Fishkeeping Information and Resources for the Home Aquarium



Looking for even MORE information on freshwater aquariums?
Try the My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets ebook.

My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets



« Why Are all my Plants Melting?

A Walstad Natural Planted Tank »

Baby Platy Fry


Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

The first part of this is taken from my “Why are my plants melting” post and updates…

1-7-11 – 10:30pm
Well, I was starting to vacuum the gravel and caught sight of a little white flake of food floating up towards the siphon when it suddenly darted down…. we have babies. I saw 4 at one time and then a 5th being born and there still seem to be a few to go (at least.) Snoopy, our red wag (red-orange body with black tail and fins) is giving birth. She had been a bit cranky the last week or so chasing the other two around (a bit moreso today it seemed.) She is the one I suspected was pregnant just based on her size. We added Mickey (a male) into the tank on Tuesday December 21st. Prior to that Snoopy had been a solitary female since around this time last year I believe (I’ll have to look back, but I think she may have been in there a bit longer.)


So, that’s 2 weeks and three days gestation (which seems AWFULLY short when I’ve been reading that they usually have 4 weeks or so. Anyway – the little guys are real cute – two little dots for eyes and a transparent body. Those tail fins REALLY go when they zip around. They’re all very smartly sticking to the java fern pretty closely.

It’s interesting to see Snoopy hovering near the top with her mouth almost at the top of the water and the other two huddling somewhat close to her in a similar pose. They’ve been quite a bit more tranquil now that she’s in labor (do you even say that for a fish?) She goes in fits and starts as she tries to birth one and then hunkers down and rests. My only regret is that this had to happen when the tank is less than ideal. Ammonia is less than 0.25 after the change but more than 0, nitrites are 0.25 and nitrates are around 20ppm.

as of 1:30am Snoopy was still giving birth (at least 4 hours after things started.) I saw a few fry, but the lights were out so I couldnt see how many there were. Today 1/8/11. Things seem to be approaching normal in the tank, the behavior of the fish is more like usual. Snoopy seems smaller, but I’m still thinking she may have a few more fry to drop. If what I’m reading is a guage, then at the least she may have another drop in about 4 weeks, so around February 4th or so.

I’ve fed this morning and I’ve done two things for feeding. First is the regular large flakes for the adults and I’ve put some flakes in a ziplock bag and pulverized, then used a wet toothpick to get the flake dust on it and deposit that into the tank (looks like tiny snow.) I have seen at least two fry this morning darting in and out of the java moss and cave. I’m afraid I don’t know if any more survived the night. They could have and could be hiding under/in the java moss clumps or around the big cave or a smaller one as well. there are lots of places for them to be hiding.

However, the big fish didn’t seem as hungry today which may mean that they’ve had high protein snacks….

As for the water paramters I’ve just tested nitrites today at 0.25ppm and will do another partial water change today being careful not to suck out any of the baby fry. It really is amazing to see them zipping around. They are no bigger than a grain of rice, mostly whitish or clear (towards the tail they are much more transparent.) They also have two little black eyes.

We’re now talking about going ahead and getting a new tank when we can get back out (several inches of snow and ice overnight and potentially a lot more coming tomorrow night. So, we may be effectively snowed in for a few days. Even if none of these fry make it, there will likely be another back before long. Our new female may have been pregnant as well. She doesn’t look as large as snoopy has, but she is a lighter color and I can see a tiny black spot that I think could be a gravid spot. If so, we should find out in another 2 weeks.

In some ways I would like to take all the plants/decorations out so I could see the little guys, of course that would take away any chance they have of living through the next few days I suppose.

So how many were there total? That’s a good question, I don’t really know, but…. at about 9:30pm I was able to spot 4 at the bottom of the tank and I thought I saw a fifth just a second after it was born. I remember another two or three catching just a moment or two after they separated from their mother so that would be at least 8 which sounds like a relatively small brood.

I have warned my wife and kids not to get too attached to them as “fish are mean” and it’s possible that none of them make it. Yes, I could have separated the mother into a plastic tub I guess and then taken her out after birthing or just moved the big fish into a temporary plastic tub “hospital” tank, but we’ll see. I have considered the possibility of selling them to the lfs for store credit, but have heard that they would at least need to be big enough to be sellable or they’d wind up as feeder fish there so…. I think our plan to get another tank might help with the possibility of raising them until they’re big enough to sell/trade.

Anyway, more updates to come….

Update 1-8-11 – 1:50pm

Okay – definitely still have 2 fry hiding in the java moss potentially more. Will probably do a water change about mid afternoon. I also will likely be doing a bottle test of some potting soil for the natural planted tank that we’ll be putting together over the next week or two.

Update 1-8-11 – 8pm

Okay – another round of fry about the same time as the water change today. I’ve seen at least three swimming around at the same time. I think these may be new births because they seem to swim out in the open at first before hunkering down and hiding. We had seen 2 hiding prior to that. Snoopy, the mother was seated on the gravel and the other fishes had their noses in corners which was why I started looking more intently again. I see one fry that has died floating. Mickey slurped it in and spit it back out. I’m not sure if that’s what killed it or if it was already dead. I suspect several others have been slurped since this time yesterday though and have in the last few minutes seen at least two together in the java moss.

Oh, one other note – I measure one that appears to be about 5/16ths of an inch long.

Okay – 8:30pm – I can only confirm one living at the moment and have seen two floating, snoopy still acts as though she is not done.

update- 1/9/11 – 9pm

Unfortunately as of tonight I have not been able to see any platy fry since last night. I saw two dead last night, but there was at least one still living when the lights cycled off. Even after a water change today I couldn’t spot one, we’ll see over the next few days. I did get a new 10 gallon tank which the adults will start moving into when the next drop happens.

update – 1/10/11 – 9:30pm

I haven’t had much time to look for them today, but still no sign of the fry. I think this round of birthing seems to be over however the behavior in tank is still not quite back to normal. (Water quality issues?) Our plan with the new tank is to move the male out to the new 10 gallon as soon as it seems fit. Then the females get to stay in the 5 gallon until the next drop at which time they’ll move one at a time over to the new 10 gallon and the fry can keep the small tank.

update 1/11/11 3:42 pm

Well – another water change and we’re back to the dropping behavior. Snoopy is sitting on the gravel and hiding under plants, the other two have their noses stuck in corners as well. Not sure if there are a few more fry to be born in this batch or not.

update 1/11/11 9:00pm

Did another water change and we’re at 0 ppm ammonia – just a shade above zero for nitrites (but not close to 0.25) and between 5 and 10 ppm nitrates. No sign of baby fry as I was changing but the behavior still seems to be that of the drop from snoopy. She’s hanging around the bottom of the tank, in corners. It may just be a sign of stress in general. I’m hoping to not be doing a water change for a few days to help out on the stress side of things. Next cleaning though I’m going to move the java moss and clean underneath which may may clean up a lot of extra debris. (The edges where the gravel is not covered by plants are looking brilliantly clean with all this cleaning lately. I’ve tried to avoid any kind of scrubbing in the last several changes which could get rid of the good bacteria. Hopefully if there are any fry I’ll be able to see them when the java moss is moved and I clean under it. At this point I still haven’t seen any in a couple days and suspect there are none currently living in the tank, but if Snoopy was holding on to one or two still, who knows?

update 1/14/11 – 10pm

Unfortunately the birthing behavior continued for several days and it became clear that snoopy was stressed for other reasons as well. At first I suspected gill flukes and treated for that. The next day Snoopy died. I regret that I didn’t recognize symptoms earlier. I confused the sitting on the bottom to give birth with her sitting on the bottom because she was ill. At one point I suspected swim bladder disease, but am leaning back towards gill flukes. The remaining platies in the tank have similar symtoms and I am still treating. In accordance with the directions for this treatment I did a large water change today and pulled out almost all the plants. I don’t believe any fry are surviving now in this tank. Hopefully once this infection clears up we will have another batch. If the two platys in the tank now don’t pull through I will need to wait at least 7 days before restocking. Personally I am thinking two weeks might be a safer period (although I plan to still feed the tank to keep the bacteria colony going.)

That much said, new fish may not be under the same stresses that the current fish went through that has seen them become sick. It would be better to be safe and wait though. Hopefully the two remaining fish (mickey and mrs. fish) will make it and turn the corner her in a day or two, but their behavior has been very unusual the last few days. Listless, hovering at the top or bottom of the tank, no reaction to food. Very little reaction/interaction between them. Very little startling at a move next to the tank. This will be the last update to this post. Future updates are in the “why are my plants melting” and potentially a new post about gill flukes and other aquarium pests.

PDF Printer    Send article as PDF   
Tags: , , , , ,
January 8, 2011 - 12:40 PM
Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge