Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
鰓吸蟲 |首頁魚缸指南

首頁魚缸指南

家庭水族箱Fishkeeping信息和資源



尋找更在淡水水族館信息嗎?
試試我的淡水水族館的秘密電子書。

我的淡水水族館的秘密



鰓吸蟲

我有我的5加侖的油箱,聲稱我的魚鰓吸蟲的懷疑爆發。 以下是對他們的一些細節,我給坦克,試圖幫助他們恢復和治療。

拳頭,症狀是夾緊的鰭,紅色或發炎鰓,坐在頂部似乎GASP空氣或坐在底部。 過剩煤泥大衣可以是一種症狀。 閃爍在早期階段,可鰓吸蟲的症狀。 鰓吸蟲基本上可能不會大到足以可見,但可以讓你的魚昏昏欲睡,捨不得吃。

11年1月12日下午10時

懷疑可能鰓僥倖為患,治療和一半的叢林實驗室寄生蟲明確的標籤。 所有這三種魚已經很奇怪的行為。 低度活動,食慾低。 我最初雖然這是分娩從史努比的行為和其他魚類的模仿。 她介紹了11年1月7日和11年1月8日晚上再生育。 有很多史努比坐在底部,然後痙攣性運動。 其他兩種魚不進食,只是掛在坦克頂部的一個角落自己的鼻子。

11年1月13日 -

我想知道有關魚鰾病 ,由於米奇的奇怪游泳。 他掙扎著潛水和彩車迅速回到頂端。 在嚴峻的角鼻游泳下降/尾起來。 的行為似乎以更好地匹配鰓吸蟲雖然,可能是我們有一個位都去上嗎? 史努比死在水箱底部。

更新11年1月14日下午10時

這兩個倖存的platys仍然沒有尋找偉大。 另一天的觀察後,我回來了懷疑鰓吸蟲。 (史努比前的晚上死了,我最好的猜測是,有一些寄生蟲引起嗜睡和不尋常的行為。那天晚上,我做了一個明確投叢林實驗室寄生蟲),不幸的是,它可能會,這一直是一個問題,因為身邊的時候魚的第一批魚苗(一周前)今晚發生了變化的行為,然後和幾個晚上,我以為,分娩行為,所以他們不太活躍,罐頂附近徘徊。 回想起來,我可以採取行動的苦惱的標誌。

我做了50%的水變化的今天,明確,並計劃與寄生蟲 redosed繼續,每隔兩天(也許 25%的變化,而不是50%,雖然。)一會兒。 希望他們將開始復甦,看起來更健康,但我怕我可能讓情況繼續過長。 夫人魚有紅鰓,因為我們把她帶回家。 我最初以為這僅僅是她的色彩,現在我不知道。 以下是基本symtoms - 徘徊在坦克的頂部或底部。 不思飲食(這些小傢伙通常所有的地方尋找藻類或任何他們能找到。)沒有太多的互動(沒有男追女)。 很少令人吃驚的或反應罐外的運動,但在他們旁邊。 一些時間花費在底部徘徊。 (史努比,我以為這是分娩的行為,並且在第二和第三個和第四個晚上... ...)現在我的理論是,一段時間他們的免疫系統退化的壓力,從 0.25-0.5氨/亞硝酸鹽魚鰓吸蟲已經能夠把握(可能由新的魚類之一介紹。)

11年1月15日

更多的活動。 還不是很多,但一些從米奇和夫人。 魚。

11年1月16日

另有25%的水變化和計量與寄生蟲明確。 我看到了更多的從魚的活動,和他們確實試圖吃了一下,我把坦克(藻類薄片和smushed青豆)。夫人魚看起來更糟形狀此刻和魚鰾是一個明確的問題。 她努力嘗試游泳下去,不能令它一路下跌。 在一個點上,我看到她的上市,以及在45%的角度向一側。 她較為活躍的今天,雖然在青豆了幾口。

由於鰓僥倖按說生活七天,雞蛋需要2-4天的孵化,然後幼蟲脆弱。 如果他們沒有找到他們死了一台主機。 我想,我將繼續在星期二,星期四和星期六給藥。 這一切都開始週三至週六將在10天左右。 所以在這一點上,我們可能會通過投這個半路。

今天,米奇是尋找更好和更積極的。

在這一點上我最大的遺憾就是沒有拿起剛才的症狀。 不幸的是,它左右開始魚苗下降分娩的同時,因為這是我第一次看到這種行為 ...。 我不承認有別的去。

更新11年1月17日

事情是繼續看今天在坦克的前途。 這是一種用於治療休息日,我們將有另一個水的變化和治療的明天。 米奇一直吃,並沒有腸阻塞。 他的活動水平仍比正常水平低,但他正在取得進展。 我見過的很多食品今天瀏覽和周圍的坦克在表面以外的地方或沿碎石游泳。 我什至開始他纏著夫人魚之前,她得到更好的關注。 她昨天一樣,上市似乎比昨天嚴重。 她已經掛在表面,我看到她嗑,吃一些植物海藻的昨晚是有希望的。 我仍然認為她有堵塞,這是造成魚鰾問題。

我又嘗試在水箱中放置豌豆,既不真的似乎採取要約我。 有一些痙攣四處隱藏雖然當我把蓋。 我還打算在週二 /週四 /週六治療之前,我們這個走出困境。 我希望米奇可以獨自離開夫人魚,足以讓她恢復。 我不喜歡的另一個魚加入到我們在生病的時刻坦克的想法,但可能比移動米奇到另一個坦克之前,他曾全力救治。

- 更新11年1月19日

昨晚沒有水的變化和下一步治療。 儘管魚鰾問題 - 夫人魚遊在山洞裡隱藏在水改。 我把它當成一個好兆頭。 他們已經吃了位(蚓蠕蟲這段時間)。 我試圖豌豆,但也有不買帳豌豆。 他們似乎沒有想通了那些尚未被食品... ...。 今天,米奇是游泳周圍幾乎一樣正常。 夫人魚是比她的水箱底部對更深層次的嘗試,但仍掙扎與魚鰾問題。 它似乎比它雖然是稍好。 這兩種魚是pooping雖然(儘管從我迄今為止見過的夫人魚少量的... ...)我希望最終將有助於夫人魚魚鰾問題。

在這一點上,我還打算我還引進另一種魚,治療前的圍欄上週四 /週六的坦克治療。 一方面,米奇夫人魚不時糾纏,另一方面,我們真的想要一個新的魚進入基本上是在醫院的那一刻​​起罐。 (我不知道,它可能相當於在一定意義上的檢疫。鑑於,我們將它們移動一個更大的水箱逐步。)

更新11年1月20日

水變化及治療今晚另外一個星期六仍然計劃。 今天將可能是每天清潔玻璃,因為我們現在的藍藻在玻璃上的集合。 我不打算充分洗刷了一切,只是玻璃,所以我們可以看得很清楚。 今天,我已經看到了兩個夫人周圍的坦克和米奇游泳的魚。 夫人魚仍然不是100%恢復從魚鰾問題,但取得了下來藻類蠶食周圍的洞穴。 水的變化之外,這是首次在相當長一段時間,她已經能游泳從表面更長的時間長度。 我也注意到一個從米奇仍然閃爍位。 我沒有檢查水質參數,在這幾天的坦克,但如果我們有任何氨/亞硝酸鹽,會感到震驚,現在 25%的水的變化每天。 (一切都穩定下來之前治療開始 ... ...)所以,我懷疑閃爍的仍然是從鰓吸蟲。 希望但如果我們可以把今天再次和星期六,然後我們將其生命週期的大部分(吸蟲)和消除其中大部分。

更新 - 11年1月20日傍晚

大型水改 - 可能是30-40%。 我沒有另一種寄生蟲病的治療,最後會將於星期六。 今天標誌著一個很大的改善夫人魚的行為。 她現在能游泳進入水箱。 第一天,我見過她做的自發。 最後換水,她隱藏在山洞裡,但之後她只是浮動回到頂端。 (她真的掙扎有太多停留下來。)今天雖然,似乎停留下來好像是很容易。 我仍然可以檢測到的浮力位,但這已經有了很大的改進。 我覺得我們這個鰓吸蟲的爆發幾乎走出困境(魚鰾)。

上傳時間 - 11年1月22日

魚和米奇夫人的健康,除了獲得更多的工廠,我已經添加了更多platys(包括女性)的行為和過去幾天看到這樣的改善。 我們的目標是起飛夫人魚的壓力。 我期待今晚做的寄生蟲的坦克最後治療,然後某個明天或星期一到10加侖的移動米奇。 (水質是似乎很不錯。氨已經在零以上從 0.25到圖表上(接近比0.25到0)今天只是有點。)

氨/亞硝酸鹽測試 0今天這種坦克。 我保持在它的眼睛又由於它承載 4魚。 我避免超過飼料這一次,所以我不希望看到一個秒殺的誘惑。 我會做最後一次治療前的水25%的變化。 (和採摘腐爛的豌豆,可能仍然從以前的嘗試紓緩便秘的問題,似乎已經伴隨著鰓吸蟲和魚鰾。

更新11年1月24日

我沒有 25%的水的變化(可能真的更像是30%)和治療。 所有的魚都不錯。 新來港定居人士之一,是有點霸道(最大的女性)。 所以,週六我打動了她的血氨水平的新型坦克已經在那裡(大於 0.25)較低。 今天,它的下降到0(或非常接近)。 可能有一個綠色的小瓶(API檢測試劑盒)的提示,但它非常接近。

所以,現在是在坦克的和平。 其他三個目前正在尋找漂亮的內容,我並不指望治療鰓吸蟲在這個時候再次。

PDF格式    發送PDF格式的文章   
2011年1月16日-下午06:02

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 2 to be resource, object given in /home/avery/homefishaquarium.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1173
Gill Flukes | Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Home Fish Aquarium Guide

Fishkeeping Information and Resources for the Home Aquarium



Looking for even MORE information on freshwater aquariums?
Try the My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets ebook.

My Freshwater Aquarium Secrets



Gill Flukes

I have had a suspected outbreak of gill flukes in my 5 gallon tank that have claimed one of my fish. Here are some details about them and the treatment that I am giving the tank to try and help them recover.

Fist, the symptoms are clamped fins, red or inflamed gills, sitting at the top seeming to gasp for air or sitting at the bottom. Excess slime coat can be a symptom. Flashing in the early stages can be a symptom of gill flukes. Basically gill flukes may not be large enough to be visible, but can make your fish lethargic and reluctant to eat.

1-12-11 10pm

Suspecting possible gill fluke infestation and treating with half a tab of jungle labs parasite clear. All three fish have been behaving strangely. Low activity, low appetite. I initially though this was birthing behavior from snoopy and the other fish were mimicking. She gave birth on the night of 1/7/11 and 1/8/11 again. There was a lot of snoopy sitting on the bottom and then spastic movements. The other two fish were not eating and just hanging out with their noses in a corner at the top of the tank.

1-13-11 –

I’m wondering about swim bladder disease due to Mickey’s strange swimming. He struggles to dive and then floats rapidly back to the top. Swimming at a severe angle nose down/tail up. The behaviors seem to match gill flukes better though, possibly we have a bit of both going on? Snoopy died at the bottom of the tank.

update 1-14-11 10pm

The two surviving platys are still not looking great. After another day of observation I’m back to suspecting gill flukes. (The night before snoopy died my best guess was that there was some sort of parasite causing the lethargy and unusual behavior. That night I did a dosing with jungle laboratories parasite clear) Unfortunately it may be that this has been a problem since around the time of the first batch of fry (a week ago tonight.) The fish had changed behavior then and for several nights I assumed that the birthing behavior was why they were less active and hovering near the top of the tank. In retrospect it was a sign of distress that I could have acted on.

I did a 50% water change today and redosed with the parasite clear and plan to continue that every two days (maybe with a 25% change instead of 50% though.) for a short while. Hopefully they will start to recover and look healthier, but I’m afraid I may have let the situation go on too long. Mrs. Fish has had red gills since we brought her home. I initially thought that was just her coloration, right now I wonder. Here are the basic symtoms – hovering at the top of the tank or the bottom. Not eating (these little guys normally were all over the place looking for algae or whatever they could find.) Not much interaction (no male chasing female). Very little startling or reaction to movement outside the tank, but next to them. Some of the time spent hovering at the bottom. (With snoopy I assumed this was birthing behavior and it went on a second and third and fourth night…) Right now my theory is that the stress on the fish from the 0.25-0.5 ammonia/nitrites for a period of time degraded their immune systems enough that gill flukes have been able to take hold (possibly introduced from one of the new fish.)

1-15-11

More activity today. Not a lot, but some from mickey and mrs. fish.

1-16-11

Another 25% water change and dosing with parasite clear. I saw more activity from the fish and they indeed tried to eat a bit at what I put into the tank (algae flakes and smushed green peas.) Mrs. Fish looks to be in worse shape at the moment and swim bladder is a definite issue. She works hard to try to swim down and can’t make it all the way down. At one point I saw her listing to one side at a 45% angle as well. She is more active today though and took a few bites at the green peas.

Since the gill fluke supposedly lives for seven days and the eggs take 2-4 days to hatch and then are vulnerable as larvae. If they don’t find a host they die. I’m thinking that I will continue dosing on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. This all started on Wednesday and so going through Saturday would make about 10 days. So at this point we may be about halfway through the dosing for this.

Today Mickey is looking much better and more active.

At this point my biggest regret is not picking up on the symptoms earlier. Unfortunately it started around the same time as a birthing of a drop of fry and since this is the first time I’ve seen that behavior…. I didn’t recognize that there was something else going on.

Update 1-17-11

Things are continuing to look promising in the tank today. This is an off day for the treatment, we’ll have another water change and treatment tomorrow. Mickey has been eating and doesn’t have intestinal blockage. His activity level is still lower than normal, but he is making progress. I’ve seen a lot of browsing for food today and swimming around the tank at places other than the surface or along the gravel. I’m even starting to be concerned about him pestering Mrs. Fish before she get’s better. She looks about the same as yesterday, the listing seems to be less severe than yesterday. She has hung around the surface and I saw her nibbling and eating at algae on some plants last night which was promising. I still think she has a blockage which is causing the swim bladder issue.

I made another attempt at placing peas in the tank and neither really seemed to take me up on the offer. There was some spastic running around and hiding though when I took the cover off. I still plan on a Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday treatment before we’re out of the woods with this. I hope Mickey can leave Mrs. Fish alone enough for her to recover. I don’t like the thought of adding another fish to our sick tank at the moment, but that might be better than moving Mickey out to another tank before he’s had the full treatment.

–update 1-19-11

Did the water change and next treatment last night. In spite of the swim bladder issue – Mrs. Fish swam down to hide in the cave during the water change. I took this as a good sign. They’ve both eaten a bit (tubifex worms this time). I tried peas but there were no takers on the peas. They don’t seem to have figured out that those could be food yet…. Today Mickey is swimming around almost like normal. Mrs. Fish is making deeper forays towards the bottom of the tank than she was, but is still struggling with the swim bladder issue. It does seem somewhat better than it was though. Both fish are pooping though (albeit small amounts from Mrs. Fish from what I’ve seen thus far….) I’m hoping that will eventually help Mrs. Fish to get over the swim bladder issue.

At this point i still plan on a Thursday/Saturday treatment of the tank I’m still on the fence about introducing another fish before the treatments are over. On the one hand, Mickey is pestering Mrs. Fish from time to time, on the other hand do we really want a new fish to go into what is basically a hospital tank at the moment. (I don’t know, it may be the equivalent of quarantine in a sense. Given that we’ll be moving them all up to a larger tank gradually.)

Update 1-20-11

Still plan on a water change & treatment tonight and another one Saturday. Today will probably be the day to clean the glass as we have a collection of cyanobacteria on the glass right now. I’m not going for a full scrubbing of everything, just the glass so we can see well. Today I’ve seen both Mrs. Fish and Mickey swimming around the tank. Mrs. Fish is still not 100% recovered from the swim bladder issue, but has made it down to nibble on algae around the cave. Outside of the water change this is the first time in quite a while that she’s been able to swim down from the surface for an extended length of time. I did notice a bit of flashing still from Mickey. I haven’t checked the water parameters in this tank in a few days, but would be shocked if we have any ammonia/nitrite right now with the 25% water changes every day. (Everything had stabilized before the treatments started…) So, I suspect the flashing is still from gill flukes. Hopefully though if we can treat today again and Saturday then we will have covered most of their life cycle (the flukes) and eliminated most of them.

Update – late evening 1-20-11

Large water change – probably 30-40 percent. I did another treatment for parasites, the last will be on Saturday. Today has marked a great improvement in the behavior of Mrs. Fish. She is able to swim down into the tank now. First day I’ve seen her doing that spontaneously. Last water change she did manage to hide in the cave, but after it was over she was simply floating back to the top. (She really struggled to stay down there too.) Today though, it seems as though staying down is much easier. I still can detect a bit of buoyancy, but this has been a big improvement. I think we’re almost out of the woods with this outbreak of gill flukes (and swim bladder.)

Update – 1-22-11

The last few days have seen such improvement in the behavior and health of Mrs. Fish and Mickey that in addition to getting more plants I’ve added 2 more platys (both females). The goal is to take the pressure off of Mrs. Fish. I am expecting to do the last treatment of the tank this evening for parasites and then sometime tomorrow or Monday move Mickey over to the 10 gallon. (water quality is seeming pretty good. ammonia has gone from 0.25 to just a bit above zero on the chart (closer to 0 than 0.25) today.)

Ammonia/nitrite both have tested 0 in this tank today. I’m keeping an eye on it again due to it hosting 4 fish. I’ve avoided the temptation to over feed this time around so I hope not to see a spike. I will be doing a 25% change of water before the last treatment. (And picking the rotting peas that may still remain from the previous attempts at relieving the problems with constipation that seem to have accompanied the gill flukes and swim bladder.

Update 1-24-11

I did the 25% water change (probably really more like 30%) and treated. All fish are looking pretty good. One of the new arrivals was a bit bossy (the biggest female). So, Saturday I moved her over to the new tank as the ammonia level had been going down over there (lower than 0.25). Today it’s down to 0 (or VERY close). There may be a hint of green in the vial (api test kit), but it’s very close.

So, there is now peace in the tank. The other three are looking pretty content at the moment and I don’t expect to be treating again for gill flukes at this time.

PDF    Send article as PDF   
January 16, 2011 - 6:02 PM